The Americans 1.4: Live Blog!

Friends and Follows: this post is the first of four live posts as I will be live-blogging this week’s episode. Although I’m upset that I will not be able to catch you up before the upcoming new episode, I like this experiment.

This week’s episode opens with the main plot point, the assassination attempt of president Ronald Reagan and the immediate fear that the crime was committed by a Soviet. Both Elizabeth and Phillip spring into action trying to find exactly what happened and what to do next. “Grannie” whose real name we now learn is Claudia, sends Elizabeth on a mission to find any information being spread on his condition and linking the crime to the Soviet Government.

I have to say I’m extremely impressed with the historical accuracy of this episode so far. Not only did the writers and producers nail down the false report of the death of Reagan’s assistant, James Brady, but they also focused on the media’s false reporting of Soviet involvement. I like what I see!

Leave a Reply

